Riley RM Series
Reviewed by Unique Cars and Parts
Our Rating: 2
The newly designed Riley 1½ litre RMA saloon was introdued in August 1945 with the 2½ RMB saloon following in November 1946. These saloons were at once liked for their graceful and flowing lines, well appointed and comfortable intereiors, brisk performance and good road manners - all of which impressed the motoring journalists and road testers of the time.
The elegant bodywork
was mounted on and ash frame and sat on a sturdy steel chassis. Steering was by precise rack and pinion and the front suspension
was by torsion bar and wishbone. Engines used a twin camshaft arrangement that operated the inclined overhead valves
by short pushrods.
From 1948 two new body styles were available on the 2½ litre models. These were the Roadster (RMC) and the Drophead Coupe (RMD) and these remained in production until 1950
. Styling changes were made in 1952
which included the fitting of full width bumpers and a larger rear windscreen, as well as some imporvements to the cars mechanical side such as fully hydraulic brakes.
From this point the 1½ litre car was dubbed RME and the 2½ litre car RMF. In 1953
the 2½ litre ended production when it was replaced by the Pathfinder
, but the 1½ litre continued to be made until March 1955